About us
Getting to Riccione
Cycling Holidays
Reading GP Meet
Reading GP Meet
Photo Gallery
Contact us

Reading GP Meeting: Palmer Park Stadium, July 23, 2011

Click on image for Hi Res version
Matt Rowe edges out Matt Gittings on the line in 15km winner-takes-all-scratch race
Click on image for Hi Res version
Donal Bailey (Black) on the way to victory in Sprinters League Final against Barnaby Swinnerton
Click on image for Hi Res version
The top six in the sprinters league race get their prizes
Click on image for Hi Res version
Imogen Farlie (Team Terminator) on the way to victory in the women and men's V50 Keirin
Click on image for Hi Res version
Action from the women's derny race with winner Corinne Hall on the inside
All photos courtesy of Guy Swarbrick (Trackcycling.me.uk)

Event Report

Cycle Premier Metaltek's Matt Rowe claimed the feature race at the inaugural Tricyclesports.co.uk Reading Grand Prix as he held off Matt Gittings of AW Cycles.co.uk in the sprint for the line after 15km at Palmer Park.

Former European Junior Scratch race champion Rowe hit the front on the last of 33 laps and resisted the efforts of Gittings to come around him in the straight.

It was a repeat of the last time the pair went head to head in last year's National Derny Championships at Scunthorpe where they occupied the first two positions.

Neil Cooper of AW Cycles.co.uk claimed third in the winner takes all scratch race while Corrine Hall (Team Corridori) took the prize for first woman.

It capped a successful afternoon for Hall, the national points race champion, who took the women's derny race, also over 15km.

Paced by Derek Marloe, she resisted the efforts of evergreen Janet Birkmyre, a multi-world masters champion, in the final laps.

Jayne Paine (Willesden CC) set a fast pace at the start of the race before having Hall, Birkmyre and Rohan Battison (For Fiored Brookvex) for company. Paine could not hold off the first two but managed the final podium place.

The event was a round of the National Sprinter's League and there proved to be an afternoon of upsets, starting in the qualifying 200 metres where a rising wind had an impact on the seeding for the heats among the top 12.

City of Edinburgh's Kenny Ayre, who won the round at the Dudley Grand Prix, beating series leader John Paul in the process, was an early casualty, failing to get through the first round then going out in a repechage that also saw Tom Baker of Halesowen eliminated.

Junior Baker had the consolation of taking the men's keirin, the concluding event of the programme, while the sprinter's league final boiled down to a battle between Donal Bailey and Barnaby Swinnerton.

It was Bailey, who prevailed over SIS.com star Swinnerton to take the maximum points.

Other highlights of the afternoon were a win in the men's points race for Matthew Haase of Cardiff Jif, claiming the double points last sprint ahead of Gittings. Cooper and Martyn Harris were the others on the podium. Junior star Haase also cleaned up in the Course de Primes, winning a clutch of spot prizes.

John McClelland (Agiskoviner) won the short scratch race and completed a frustrating afternoon for Gittings by relegating him the second in the Devil Take the Hindmost with AW Cycles junior Cameron Swarbrick a fine third.

Top Welsh coach Courtney Rowe took the B Sprint while Imogen Farlie showed her promise for the future with a popular victory in a special keirin race for women and V50 men.

The event was promoted by Tricyclesports.co.uk with support from Reading Velodrome Racing, Reading Borough Council and sponsors AW Cycles.co.uk.




Full Programme Results  

National Sprinters League

1  D Bailey
2  B Swinnerton
3  S Pulford
4  L Povey
5  E Bird

12 lap Scratch Race

1  J McClelland
2  M Haase
3  J Streather
4  M Harris
5  J Streather

Women's Derny Race

1  C Hall
2  J Birkmyre
3  J Paine
4  R Battison
5  M Britten

12 lap Points Race

1  M Haase
2  N Cooper
3  M Harris
4  M Gittings
5  A Peterson


15km Scratch Race

1  M Rowe
2  M Gittings
3  N Cooper
4  J McClelland
5  J Streather

Scratch (Course des Primes) 4.5km

1  M Rowe
2  N Cooper
3  J Streather
4  M Harris
5  J Holland-Leader

Devil Take the Hindmost

1  J McClelland
2  M Gittings
3  C Swarbrick
4  M Rowe
5  C Rowe

Men's Keirin

1  T Baker
2  L Povey
3  J McClelland

50+ Vets & Ladies Kierin

1  I Farlie
2  J Paine
3  R Battison