About us
Getting to Riccione
Cycling Holidays
Reading GP Meet
Reading GP Meet
Photo Gallery
Contact us

TriCycle Sports Reading Grand Prix 2012
Palmer Park Stadium (July 21, 2012)

Click on image for Hi Res version
The AW Cycles team pursuit team on their way to victory
Corrine Hall leads Harriet Owen in Women's Derny Race (left), Cameron Howard in flying 200 (right)
Click on image for Hi Res version
Kristian Woolf outsprints Nick Noble and Rob King to win 20k scratch
Click on image for Hi Res version
Cameron Howard beats Tom Baker in the men's sprint final
Click on image for Hi Res version
Ieuan Williams wins men's keirn from Sean Mayer
All photos courtesy of Guy Swarbrick (Trackcycling.me.uk)

Event Report

Juniors Cameron Howard and Kristian Woolf won the two feature men's events at the Tricyclesports.co.uk Reading Grand Prix while Corrine Hall and former Palmer Park Velo rider Harriet Owen battled it out for the honors on the women's side.

And local interest was provided by the AW Cycles.co.uk quartet of Matt Gittings, Nick English, Alex Peterson and Rob King, who broke the track record in the men's team pursuit on the way to winning the Central Division Championship in that discipline, beating a strong VC Prestige line-up which included Woolf.

First up it was the National Sprinters League and a few surprises as the competitors battled to get to grips with the shallower banking at Palmer Park.

Kenny Ayre from City of Edinburgh led the series going into the Reading round, but he was eliminated in the second round series by Howard.

The 18-year-old Howard, who had raced at the Reading Track League this season, used his knowledge of the 459 metres velodrome to good effect throughout the rounds and none more so than in the final where he faced the more experienced Tom Baker from Halesowen.

He powered past him in the straight to claim first place and valuable points in the overall standings.

Ieaun Williams of Cardiff, fastest in the flying 200m qualifiers, took third from Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles)

The highlight for endurance riders was the Winners Takes All Scratch Race over 20 kilometres and by midway a telling three-man break had developed of Woolf, King and Nick Noble (Bristol RC).

With the main sponsored teams having a man away, efforts to join the break were thwarted, leaving the three to fight it out for the £150 top prize from the promoters.

Woolf won the sprint from Noble, with King a brave third and winner of the Central Division Championship incorporated into the race.

Owen was first woman across the line ahead of returning Jo Tindley (VC St Raphael), making a welcome return after several years out of the sport.

Hall was third but had already shown her class by winning the all-women's derny race.

With a good entry, heats were needed to decide the eight riders for the final, where most of the running was made by Hall, a former National Points champion on the track, and her pacer Derek Marloe.

Node 4 Giordana teammate Owen came through late with Sean Bannister to challenge, with multi world masters champion Janet Birkmyre also in the picture in the closing laps. Tindley was also factor until the misfortune of a malfunctioning derny bike ended her challenge.

Hall held off Owen with Birkmyre third in an exciting race.

Neil Rutter (Swindon RC) won the opening 12-lap scratch race from McClelland, who is leading the National Endurance League this season.

McClelland also claimed most prizes in the Course Des Prime where the first across the line on each frantic lap of 10 was rewarded.

It was left to the Keirin riders to conclude the proceedings, with Williams winning the men's final from Mayer.

Promising youngster Lauren Quemby made the trip down from Newcastle under Lyme worthwhile by taking the women's and veteran mens race from Abbie Dentus of Welwyn Wheelers.

The event was promoted by Tricyclesports.co.uk with support from Reading Velodrome Racing, Reading Borough Council and sponsors AW Cycles.co.uk.

Full Programme Results

12 Lap Scratch Race
1  Neil Rutter Swindon RC
2  John McClelland Prestige VC
3  Nick Noble Bristol RC
4  Symon Lewis (VC Prestige)
5  Donal Linehan (Newbury CC)
6  Adam D'Arcy Wykes (VC St Raphael)

Team Pursuit
1  AW Cycles (Nick English, Matt Gittings, Rob King, Alex Peterson) - Central Division Champions (4.58.25)
2  Prestige VC (Kristian Woolf, John McClelland, James Holland-Leader, Symon Lewis) - 2nd Central Div Champions (5.03.84)
3  Police UK CRT (Steve Legg, David Baker, Alan Davies) - 3rd Central Division Champions (5.26.54)
4  VC St Raphael (Jamie Streather, Jason Streather, Adam D'Arcy Wykes) (5.27.84)
5  GS Henley (Richard Moss, Paul Elcock, Sean Gorvy) (5.34.66)
6  Twickenham CC (Gavin Mitchell, Angus Winter, Darren Paice, Christos Pagidys) (6.08.41)

Women’s Derny Final
1  Corrine Hall Node 4 Giordana
2  Harriet Owen Node 4 Giordana
3  Janet Birkmyre Torq Performance

Reading GP 20k Scratch
1  Kristian Woolf Prestige VC
2  Nick Noble Bristol RC
3  Rob King AW Cycles (Central Division Champion)
4  Tony Lock (Edwardes)
5  Max Stedman (Palmer Park Velo) (2nd Central Division Champion)
6  Jamie Streather (VC St Raphael)

1  Harriet Owen (Node 4 Giordana)
2  Jo Tindley (VC St Raphael)
3  Corrine Hall (Node 4 Giordana)

Course des Primes
  1  John Coolahan (Kingston Wheelers)
  2  Kenny Ayre (City of Edinburgh RC)
  3  John Coolahan (Kingston Wheelers)
  4  Symon Lewis (Prestige VC)
  5  Kenny Ayre (City of Edinburgh RC)
  6  Max Stedman (Palmer Park Velo)
  7  John McClelland (Prestige VC)
  8  John McClelland (Prestige VC)
  9  John McClelland (Prestige VC)
10  John McClelland (Prestige VC)

1  Ieuan Williams (CC Cardiff)
2  Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles)

Women’s Keirin
1  Lauren Quemby (Newcastle Under Lyme)
2  Abbie Dentus (Welwyn Wheelers)

National Sprinters League
200m qualifying

  1  Ieuan Williams (CC Cardiff) (11.88)
  2  Sean Mayer (Swinnerton Cycles) (11.95)
  3  Kenny Ayres (City of Edinburgh) (12.13)
  4  Tom Baker (V-Sprint Racing) (12.19)
  5  Nathan March (CC Cardiff) (12.27)
  6  Cameron Howard (Team Spirit Racing) (12.29)
  7  Barney Swinnerton (Swinnerton Cycles) (12.34)
  8  Neil Rutter (Swindon RC) (12.75)
  9  Luke Burton (BC Private member) (12.81)
10  David Jack (BC Private member) (13.13)
11  Lauren Quemby (Newcastle RC) (13.19)
12=Paul Davidoff (Team Terminator) (13.41)
12=John Coolahan (Kingston Wheelers)
12=Imogen Farlie (Team Terminator)

Round 1
Heat 1:
 I Williams bt J Coolahan for final 200
Heat 2:  S Mayer bt L Quemby (12.92)
Heat 3:  K Ayre bt D Jack (13.50)
Heat 4:  T Baker bt L Burton (12.66)
Heat 5:  N March bt N Rutter (12.77)
Heat 6:  C Howard bt B Swinnerton

First Round Reps:
1st B Swinnerton (13.22)

1st L Burton (12.63)

Round 2
I Williams bt L Burton
S Mayer bt B Swinnerton
C Howard bt K Ayre
T Baker bt N March

T Baker bt I Williams (11.88)
C Howard bt S Mayer

C Howard bt T Baker (12.03)

Third/Fourth place Final:
I Williams bt S Mayer

Minor Placings Final:
5th  N March
6th  L Burton
7th  K Ayre
8th  B Swinnerton

B Sprint Final:
1  Gawain Bailey Zappi’s CC
2  Imogen Farlie Team Terminator
3  Paul Davidoff Team Terminator

Reading GP Meeting 2011 (Full Event Report)